Speculum Musicae

Fred Sherry, Cello • 4/30/2019

Speculum Musicae was founded in 1971 by Fred Sherry, pianist Ursula Oppens and percussionist Richard Fitz. Original members included Joel Marangella, oboe; Virgil Blackwell, clarinet; Rolf Schulte, violin; John Graham, viola. Paul Lustig Dunkel, flute; Stephen Taylor, oboe and bassist Donald Palma joined the group soon after.

The Naumberg Foundation commissed two pieces for the group in 1972: Charles Wuorinen Speculum Speculi and Donald Martino Notturno.

The group commissioned Elliott Carter's A Mirror on Which to Dwell in 1975 and made the premiere recording which was conducted by Richard Fitz with Susan Davenny Wyner, soprano.

History Highlights will be updated

Article originally appeared on http://www.fredsherry.com
See website for complete article licensing information.